PETIT THEFT ATTORNEY
If you’re accused of Petit Theft in Orlando Florida, call 407-504-1384 to set up a free consultation with experienced Orlando petit theft lawyer Heiko Moenckmeier. We have the Experience to Defend YOU and Fight against these charges. We will fight for YOU.
Please don’t wait, call 407-504-1384 to speak DIRECTLY to an attorney who will give you a free initial consultation, and try to make you feel better about YOUR situation.
What is Petit Theft?
Petit theft is a misdemeanor, depending on how much (the value) someone is accused of stealing. So if it’s under $100.00, it is defined as a second degree misdemeanor (up to 60 days in jail), and if it is over $100.00 but less than $300.00, it is a first degree misdemeanor (up to a year in jail). Property stolen that is alleged to $300.00 or more is considered Grand Theft (a felony). It is defined in Florida Statutes 812.014 Theft.
Is Petit Theft SERIOUS?
Yes, petit theft, even though it is a misdemeanor, is very serious. It has many implications in your actual life, not to mention the possible jail time. Employers can see your arrest, and theft is a crime of ‘moral turpitude’ – “conduct that is considered contrary to community standards of justice, honesty or good morals.” What this means is, this could adversely impact your ability to get the job you want, the career you want, you will have to explain yourself to institutions of higher learning, and to get licensed in certain careers. A conviction for theft can be very damning. There is also a driver’s license suspension component to petit theft. You should consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who knows the ins and outs of this crime, it’s punishments, and how to fight the charges.
Can I lose my drivers license because of a petit theft conviction?
Yes. There is a license suspension component to petit theft convictions. A judge has the authority to suspend your driver’s license for a period up to six months for the first suspension and twelve months for a second suspension.
Could I go to jail? Should I get a lawyer?
Yes, you can definitely go to jail- the maximum penalties for petit Theft (Petit Theft) in Kissimmee Orlando Lake Mary Deltona, Florida range from 60 days in jail to 365 days in jail. Probation can be imposed from up to 6 months to 1 year, and fines are a maximum of $500.00 to $1,000.00.
Petit Theft is an ‘Enhanceable Offense’
What that means is that if you have a previous conviction for a petit theft, it can be enhanced to a class of crime higher than it would ordinarily be. For instance, you were convicted for petit theft less than a $100.00, a second degree misdemeanor. You are now facing charges for petit theft less than $100.00 (the second degree misdemeanor)- except now, the state attorney can use your previous judgment and sentence (conviction) to now charge you with first degree misdemeanor petit theft- punishable by up to a year. If you have two prior convictions for petit theft, the next petit theft can be enhanced to a felony (3rd degree) and be punishable by up to five (5) years in prison!
YES YOU SHOULD GET AN EXPERIENCED ORLANDO KISSIMMEE PETIT THEFT LAWYER (what did you think I would tell you?) As an experienced criminal defense attorney, I have handled many petit theft cases in my career, and have the know-how to mitigate your case and possibly get your case dropped. We can also go to trial in your case, and a jury of your peers will determine your guilt or innocence.
Call 407.504.1384 to speak with Orlando Osceola Petit Theft Attorney Heiko Moenckmeier now for your free private consultation.